A smock mill and a museum of agricultural and craft tools, mainly collected by a local resident, the late Jim Down. There are many other exhibits of interest including Chailey photographs from the early 20th Century and information on the village military history which goes back to the late 1700s.
Although the site originally housed a Post Mill, the present Windmill is a Smock Mill which Thomas Roots Beard of Chailey erected on the site in 1864.
A major renovation was organised by the Friends of Chailey Windmill in 1996. This included new sweeps and cap and the replacement of 25% of the wooden structure. This was only possible thanks to a very large grant from the National Heritage Memorial Fund.
Mill Lane, North Chailey, Lewes, East Sussex, BN8 4EG
April-September 2018: Open last Sunday of each month. Additionally open on National Mills Day (12th May) and National Heritage Day in September.
£1 per adult and 50 pence per child (age 10-16), except on National Heritage Day (free).
Other FacilitiesVery limited parking. For guided tours call John Smith (01825 723519) or Paul Coles (01825 724221)
Search Chailey Windmill's Collection
Explore By Object Tags
eHive copyright disclaimer
It is the responsibility of the eHive Account Holder to gain copyright clearance for any images or content published on eHive. If you are concerned about the copyright status for any content in eHive or would like more information on using or ordering copies of content, please contact the Account Holder of that content. For further information see our Copyright Claims page.